PALOMA VALLEY HIGH SCHOOL
WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION PROGRAM
Dr. RESA ROSENSTEIN, COORDINATOR
In order to get a work permit, students must have the following: 1. A legally paid job open to public access at a stationary location. 2. Be at least 14 years of age. 3. Must have original birth certificate, social security card, and picture I.D. (Driver’s License, school I.D., original/valid Passport, etc.) 4. Must have Form B1-1, Statement of Intent to employ a minor, filled out by an employer with immediate supervisor and parent/guardian signatures. 5. All employers must provide Worker’s Compensation Insurance. 6. Must have a 2.0 G.P.A 7. Satisfactory Disciplinary and Attendance Record.
Work permit forms may be picked up from the school Administration office between 7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. To see me for pick up and processing the application, Hours are during BOTH lunch times on Tuesday and Thursday in room D-101.
Please allow up to 48 hours for processing Dr. Resa Rosenstein
WHAT IS A WORK PERMIT?
A work permit is a legal document required by the state of California that allows a person under18 years of age (minor) to hold a job. An employer who hires a minor must have the work permit on file at the business site before the minor may start the job. An employer risks getting a fine (like a traffic ticket) from a California Labor Department inspector if no work permit is on file for a minor employee. In the same way that not all cars that speed on the freeways receive tickets, not all employers who forget or do not keep work permits for minor employees on file are fined. But, just as the threat of receiving a traffic ticket makes you want to obey the speed laws, the cost and trouble of receiving a Labor Department violation makes most employers want to obey the laws.
HOW DO I GET A WORK PERMIT?
You can get a work permit application from the nearest public high school. You may ask for one at the principal’s office or the Work Experience Education (WEE) office. After you get the work permit application, fill out the personal information in the top section (name, address, social security number, date of birth). Next have a supervisor at your new job fill out the center section with the name of the company, address, workers’ compensation insurance, etc. Finally, have your parent or legal guardian sign at the bottom. Return the work permit application to the same school office, and they will type and sign at the bottom. You must take the work permit to your new supervisor before your first day of work.
AT WHAT AGE CAN I GET A WORK PERMIT?
In most cases, students must be at least 14 years of age to get a work permit. Infants to 17-year-olds can get an “entertainment work permit” to work in the movies, on television, or do modeling. Other than this, workers under 14 years of age may do babysitting, yard work, and paper routes that do not require work permits. Although 14- and 15- year olds may get work permits, most employers will not hire students under age 16. This is because the workers’ compensation insurance usually does not cover workers under age 16. Workers’ compensation insurance is a type of insurance employers are legally required to have that helps pay medical bills when workers get injured on the job.
TO GET OR KEEP A WORK PERMIT, MUST I ATTEND SCHOOL?
Yes! Requiring work permits for minors ensures that they stay in school and have parent or guardian permission to have a job. Without school attendance or permission from a parent or guardian, no work permit may be issued. If a student drops out of school, a work permit may still be obtained if he or she enrolls in continuation school, adult school, ROP (Regional Occupational Program), or community college classes. Talk to the Work Experience teacher, Regional Occupational Program Cooperative Vocational Education (ROP/CVE) Teacher, or principal at the nearest public high school to find out more information about work permits for dropouts.
HOW OFTEN DO I NEED TO GET A WORK PERMIT?
Each time a minor is hired for a new job, a new work permit must be obtained and given to the employer. In addition, all work permits expire shortly after school starts in September. Therefore, even if you still work at the same job in September, you must get a new work permit application, complete it, get a new work permit, and give it to your employer. Since California lawmakers wanted to make sure that all working minors return to school in September, they decided to make all work permits expire in September so that working minors would have to report to school to get new work permits.
HOW MANY HOURS MAY I WORK?
Workers who are ages 14 and 15 may work 3 hours on a school day and 8 hours on a non-school day for a total of no more than 18 hours per week during the school year. They may work no later than 7:00 p.m. Workers who are ages 16 and 17 may work 4 hours on a school day and 8 hours on a non-school day for a total of 20 hours per week during the school year who are on a Regular Work Permit. Workers who are ages 16 and 17 may work 6 hours on a school day for a total of 30 hours per week during the school year if they have a Work Experience Permit. (Note: School districts are allowed to limit the total to 20 hours per week if they feel this would be best for their students.) They may work no later than 10:00 p.m. on a school night, and no later than 12:30 a.m. on a night before a non-school day (such as Friday and Saturday nights).
CAN A WORK PERMIT BE TAKEN AWAY?
Yes! The work permit can be canceled and taken away at any time by a California Labor Department inspector if he or she feels it is not in the best interest of the student to work at the job site. In addition, a work permit can be canceled at parent or guardian request. Finally, a work permit can be canceled by the issuing authority ( a person who signed the work permit at the school), for a good reason. Good reasons for canceling work permits include: student is continually absent or tardy to class, student is failing classes, student is not completing homework, student is sleeping in class, student is being asked to work during school time, or the job site is not safe.